Through One Hoop, Several More To Go

Part of the grad program here is submitting a “qualifying paper” – I did mine a lot earlier in the program than usual, and with very little editing and somehow… I passed! Not only passed, but with flying colors!! In other words: serious pwnage. Passing isn’t a HUGE deal, and I don’t usually like to flaunt my accomplishments (even the ones that are a huge deal). But I need to start giving myself credit where credit is due. I rarely congratulate myself; instead I just think “wow, you didn’t mess it up…” That’s not healthy. Plus, the sheer amount of positive feedback I’ve received re: this paper has been an amazing boost. And lord knows I need a boost to get through the next few weeks! Anyway, it’s difficult to even write about this, especially since this isn’t really something to shout from the rooftops but… baby steps! Plus my life is boring I don’t have much else to blog about…

This year I am the secretary of CoGAH (Council of Graduate Art Historians). On Friday (March 30th) we had the 6th annual CoGAH symposium. We had amazing speakers from all over the country and managed to pull it off without any real hiccups. Although planning this symposium was a lot of stress, I am so glad I got to spend so much time with my fellow members – those peeps are awesome!

Ok, it’s time to get back to writing about medieval bestiaries… once Gary gets out of the way (see above). Despite Gary’s attempts to sit on my book, mouse, and keyboard, I just wrote quite a bit about medieval perceptions of sea urchins. Yeah, I live life in the fast lane. Before I go, I want to share this quote from the 13th century:
“If sparrows and crows had the dictates of reason… how many cities and castles could they not burn down? If they enjoyed reason and were equal to men, could not all the birds and beasts mass together and destroy the human race?”  -
Aelred of Rievaulx Dialogue on the Soul
This TOTALLY reminded me of the movie The Birds! While looking it up I came across this clip, which I really should share with my animal studies peers… it totally made me laugh. Once this semester is over, I need to watch some more Hitchcock!

Alfred Hitchock’s trailer for The Birds
2 thoughts on “Through One Hoop, Several More To Go

  1. super proud of you :-) and not surprised at all that your paper passed with flying colors!!! medieval sea urchins are super sexy. I’ve been reading Derrida….for like the fourth time.

Leave a Reply

