good book vs bad book

I forgot to mention: back in May I went to the Curves of Steel exhibit at the Phoenix Art Museum. I’m not really into cars, so I was pleasantly surprised at how incredible the show was! It was full of rare cars that were BEAUTIFUL, albeit a bit ahead of their time. They were so beautiful that they fit perfectly into an art museum instead of an automotive show in some warehouse. 

Last night I finished reading one of the best books I have EVER read. It was Atonement by Ian McEwan and OH MY JESUS CHRIST. I can’t remember the last time I was *that* addicted to a book! I fought sleep to keep reading, and woke up early to read it some more. Over the two days it took me to read it I only got about 4 hours of sleep over two nights! Ian McEwan’s style of writing is perfect for my tastes, and the story line was incredibly suspenseful. The end was one of the most heart breaking things I have ever read. I teared up a little….The entire time I was reading it I kept thinking “this would make an amazing movie!” Well, turns out they are already making a movie about it! The three main characters are Keira Knightly (Iloveher.), Ramola Garai (who I LOVED in Vanity Fair), and James McAvoy (who was amazing in Last King of Scotland). To top it off, it’s being directed by the guy who made Pride and Prejudice, which just happens to be one of my most favorite movies EVER. I can not WAIT to see this movie!! 

I also finished reading Michelangelo and the Pope’s Ceiling by Ross King. I was really excited about this book because 1) it’s a non-fiction historical drama, my FAVORITE. 2) it’s about art history. Unfortunately, it was very disappointing. King actually managed to make a gripping true story into a dry mildly boring story… My biggest problem was King’s negativity that just saturated the entire piece. He was constantly ripping Michelangelo apart, calling him “melodramatic” and full of “self-pity” and many other things along that line. Obviously Ross King has never had the misfortune to suffer through depression and has little sympathy for those who have. A good third of the book was all about Raphael and how much better he was than Michelangelo. Not just as an artist, mind you, but King is apparently qualified to judge who was a better person. Everything “wrong” about Michelangelo was compared to the apparently flawless Raphael and it got really old really fast.The book wasn’t all bad, but it could have been a fell of a lot better. 

I know I’ve only been updating about books and the like lately, but that’s because
1) I’m in a summer school class that takes a lot out of me
2) I’ve been feeling rather unwell lately so I can’t do much except read, watch movies, etc…
I’ll get better, I promise 🙂

Leave a Reply

