Books galore!

I know it’s been far too long since I last updated, but things have been crazy.
First my laptop fan was broken for almost a month, so every time I tried to turn on my laptop it would make this horrible screaming sound. Once it got fixed, school started.
This semester is already kicking my ass and it’s only been 2 weeks!

A quick update on the books I’ve read recently:

Caesar and The October Horse – the 5th and 6th books (respectively) in the Masters of Rome series. Both were amazing, as usual of Colleen McCullough. The October Horse was especially heart-breaking since it had the assassination of Caesar, which was one of the most horrific things I’ve ever read. Poor Caesar L That is the last book of the series, but she is supposed to come out with part 7 – called Antony and Cleopatra – in November or December. I still can’t believe I read all those books in just a few months. That’s well over 6,000 pages!… oh well, it was definitely worth it. There’s not much more to say on these books that I haven’t said about their predecessors…

Roman Sex – I have John Clarke’s previous book “Looking at Lovemaking” which is also about Roman sexuality, but Roman Sex was much more accessible. It had big color pictures, which is important in an art book, as well as fascinating insight into the sexual ideas of the Roman people, which are far different than our own. I read the entire book in one sitting because I just couldn’t put it down!

Mayflower – by Nathaniel Philbrick. I bought this book a year ago when I was interested in early American history (for once). About a third of the way through I was too bored to continue, so I stopped reading without any real plan to continue. A few days ago I just picked it up and started reading from where I had left off. I was SUCKED IN and couldn’t put the book back down again! I finished the last 2/3 of the book in about 2 days… It is truly heart breaking to see what Americans did to the Indians, and just the horrors of war in general… It’s also disgusting to see how we’ve glossed over and idolized the pilgrims into this garish thanksgiving facades that’s so far from the truth… 

I’m about half way though Alison Weir’s Life of Elizabeth I – which is proving FASCINATING reading! Talk about a page turner… I also picked up Plutarch’s Fall of the Roman Republic and Michael Cunningham’s Specimen Days at Half Price Books (both of them together only cost me $10!!!!!).

The unfortunate thing is, I have to do SO MUCH reading for my classes that I have little to no time for pleasure reading. Oh how I wish it was summer again…

I’ll update soon with more interesting stuff … (hopefully)

Leave a Reply

