Why I love Flagstaff, Reason #20420384

If you remember, back in November Eric and I went on one of our Flagstaff trips. In my recap I said:

Then we went to the Lowell Observatory. Not only is on top of a mountain kind of far from the city, but the city has laws against how bright lights can be so that the astronomers don’t have ‘light pollution’ problems. So.. when we got out of the car we almost passed out because we could see SO many stars – EVEN THE MILKY WAY!!! It was absolutely amazing, I wanted to cry…

Well, yesterday was the 50th anniversary of the first light ordinance ever enacted, which was in Flagstaff, AZ (they have a ‘dark city’ so the scientists can study the stars). This picture was taken by the Lowell Observatory in Flagstaff two weeks ago (of Flagstaff, obviously) and posted on Astronomy Picture of the Day

CLICK ON THE PICTURE TO GO TO SEE A MUCH BIGGER VERSION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

P.S. The space ship looking thing is a cloud, over a mountain 🙂

6 thoughts on “Why I love Flagstaff, Reason #20420384

  1. That is incredible, absolutely drop dead gorgeous. It has been so long since I have observed a “clear night sky” I had forgotten how spectacular it is!

    Thank you so very much for posting this and sharing it with us.

    Personally, I am kind of fond of Jerome and Sedonia too. Flag is nice, but I kind of like the little places, Ash Fork, Williams, have even spent a little time in Holbrook.

    Once again, thanks that was neat.

  2. Thank you Don, I’m glad you like it as much as I do!!

    I agree, Sedona and Jerome are also amazing! I love randomly visiting little towns in Arizona 🙂
    and I REALLY like enjoying the beautiful Arizona night sky!

  3. The night sky, the train whistles, the Galaxy Diner, the temperate weather, the trees… I’m a true blue Notheasterner, but I think I could live in Flagstaff.

  4. I love the way you describe how there were so many stars you almost passed out. I live in Mountainaire, which is even darker than Flagstaff, and I swear, sometimes the night sky is almost too much to behold. I’ve lived all over and have seen lots of starry nights, but none as intense as here.

Leave a Reply

